Whether you’ve lived in California your whole life or just moved here, it is vital to understand its speeding laws. The rules of the road in the Golden State are unique. First, it’s important to recognize there are three main categories of speeding laws in California:
- Basic speeding law
- Presumed speed limits
- Aboslute speed limits
Along with understanding the laws, getting in touch with a traffic ticket attorney Los Angeles can help keep you out of trouble. Here is a basic explanation of California’s speeding laws.
Basic Speeding Laws
The fundamental rule according to California’s vehicle code is to never drive faster than is reasonable when taking weather, traffic, visibility, surface and width of the road, and the safety of people and property into consideration. In basic terms, you must always drive at a speed that is safe depending on the circumstances.
Presumed Speed Limits
California’s presumed speed limits, also known as “prima facie” speed limits, exist to provide a safe environment when there are no posted speed limits. For example, the presumed limit at highway intersections, alleys, and railroad crossings is 15 miles per hour. The presumed limit in school zones, residential areas, and business districts is 25 miles per hour.
Absolute Speed Limits
These are the most clear-cut speed limits. You violate the law if you drive any faster than these posted limits:
- 55 miles per hour on undivided, two-lane highways
- 65 miles per hour on highways or freeways
- 70 miles per hour on freeways
A traffic ticket lawyer Orange County can help clarify any of these laws and their consequences.
Consequences for Speeding
The punishments for speeding in California vary widely depending on the details There are base fines, penalty assessments, court costs, and license restrictions, revocations or suspensions. Excessive speeding may also result in a conviction for reckless driving, which comes with heftier fines and jail time.
By knowing the driving laws in California, you can avoid speeding tickets.